Majorly so.  I post on the Bump. I mostly stick to a few quieter boards and that’s it.  But when Dude was away for a few days and I got a taste of single motherhood, I wanted to let the moms on the Single Parents board there know how much I admired them for juggling baby, work, life and doing it all on their own. I found it exceptionally difficult for just a few days so I can’t imagine doing it daily.  At one point in my life, I had grandiose plans on finding a sperm donor if I didn’t meet someone by the time I was 40.  It was SO unrealistic of me.   So I truly meant to be complimentary.

Big. Fat. Fail.

In my post, I mentioned how I left Little Man in his crib while I walked the dog.  The women there took my “walk the dog” comment to mean I took a long stroll around the block with the dog while my child was unattended and in danger in his crib. The part that I’m trying to wrap my thoughts around is that many of these women sincerely feel that I endangered the welfare of my child.  They feel that leaving him alone in the crib is tantamount to child abuse.

So my question is: what do you do when you are alone with your child and you have to pee. What if you have diarrhea?  Do you bring your child into the bathroom while you do your business?  Do you just plop them on the floor while you relieve yourself? The women there were saying they strap their children in bouncy seats.  Well, I’m SO glad that their children are small enough to safely sit in one.  My son is nearly at the weight limit and he’s figured out how to fling himself—and the bouncy seat—forward. So I’ve since packed it away.

I thought having Little Man in his crib while I shower is the safest place for him. It’s not like I’m taking 20 minute steam baths. But for 5-10 minutes I like to shower and shave my legs before I go to work.  If I go into the laundry room, I leave Little Man in his crib.  What else should I do?

But the main issue was that I took the dog outside to relieve himself and left the baby in his crib in the condo.  They all feel that child protective services should be called and that I endangered his welfare.  I asked mothers I know about this, and most concur that they have left their child in his/her crib while they a) went to the basement (if they have a house) or went to the laundry room (in an apartment complex) that is down the hall.  My mom said that when I was a baby, she left me in my crib while she walked our standard poodle in the front yard.

So this is actually weighing on me.  Those women got what they wanted. Their flames burned me.

